Home > Uncategorized > Classmates from an extrememly diversified cultures

Classmates from an extrememly diversified cultures

One of the words that I heard the most since I came to London is diversity. During various sessions held in the three-day Welcome Program, almost every lecturer talked about, or at least mentioned, diversity.

I know we are from different countries, but I didn’t actually realize how diverse we are until the countries  are counted today. Here’s the breakdown:

  • 14 from China
  • 7 from India
  • 3 from France (one also holds US passport)
  • 2 from Nigeria, Germany and Chile each (one Chilean also holds Italy passport)
  • 1 from the following countries each: Saudi Arab, Mexico, Cameron, Norway, Afghanistan, Thailand, Palestine, Trinidad & Tobago, Kenya, Angola, Malta, Russia, Ireland, Italy, Romania, Indonesia, Poland, Brazil, and Egypt.
  • (update:) 3 from US (thanks Denisa for the correction)

Altogether there are 25 26 countries! Isn’t this amazing! The professors also exclaimed that our class could be the most diversified class they’ve ever had!

It is really great to have classmates from so many different cultures and it is always fun to talk to them to find out interesting things that I have never imagined before.

However, we have a tight schedule for classes, and I haven’t got the chance to talk to everybody. We have classes from 10:00 – 17:00 throughout Monday – Thursday, while most other departments in the media school, based on what I learned,  only have classes on Tuesday and Thursday.

Anyway, we are divided into groups in class and supposed to do some homework together, which helps acquaint us with one another.

  1. October 22, 2009 at 11:17 pm

    Hei, Yang! Quite a diversity of cultures and I’m so excited about this. But I thibk you forgot the Americans.🙂 Good luck with the blog

  2. October 22, 2009 at 11:18 pm

    I’m so sorry for misspeling your name. It was a tiping mistake. Soeey, Yong.

  3. October 22, 2009 at 11:53 pm

    Oh, yes! How could I have missed the center of the universe!🙂

    When Colin said there were 26 countries, I was wondering why I only got 25. Now you figure it out for me. Thank you!

  4. October 27, 2009 at 10:20 pm

    center of the universe? i bet mr bush prefers to call it ‘axis of the universe’

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

